We provide quality educational services geared to the individual needs of our students. Our goal is to maximize the intellectual, social, emotional, and physical potential of our special learners in a safe and least restrictive environment. We foster respect and appreciation for diversity through collaboration of staff, students, families, and the community.

The Exceptional Student Education Department at Felix Varela Sr. High works collaboratively with school and district leaders, teachers, students, and families to provide the tools, guidance, supports, and services needed to ensure access and success for students with disabilities. Here in our department, we manage all the student’s educational plans from their IEP (Individual Educational Plan), as well as EP’s (Gifted Education Plans). 

Felix Varela Sr. High is Exceptional Students Education program also focuses on building skills needed for post-secondary transition outcomes, sometimes including job placements, individualized programs that enable students to make up needed credits, and classes explicitly preparing students for life after high school. Students that defer their diploma may participate in Transition Programs through Miami-Dade County Public Schools such as:

  • Project Victory
  • Project Strive
  • Project Search
  • Project Bridge

Our self-contained ASD/IND unit students after completing their requirements for their diploma can participate in programs while still attending FVSH like Best Buddies, Independent living skill classes, Transportation Travel Training, STEPS (Successful Transition Education Programs for Students) Vocational and Employment training, Special Olympics and many more.

Our department proudly serves approximately 330 students with Individual Educational Plans as well as over 200 Gifted students. Our ESE services meet the diverse requirements of students with a wide range of learning needs, from mild to moderate learning disabilities to severe cognitive and physical disabilities.

Gifted students:

Felix Varela Sr. High offers gifted content area courses (Honors and/or Advanced Placement) and/or State-Approved high school gifted elective courses. Our teachers meet regularly to plan, implement and monitor instructional alternatives designed to ensure that the gifted students achieve successful accomplishment of gifted goals in the Advanced Placement, Honors and other academically rigorous programs offered.

For more information about these programs click below: http://ese2.dadeschools.net
Helpful ESE Formshttp://ese.dadeschools.net/forms.asp

ESE TEAM

Should you need to reach the ESE offices please call or email: (305) 752-7900

ESE Teachers

Alfonso, Lazaro302553@dadeschools.net
Alvarez, Ashley264032@dadeschools.net
Atkinson-Grant, Paulettepatkinson@dadeschools.net
Bencomo, Jeaninnejbencomo@dadeschools.net
Calzadilla, Ilette251713@dadeschools.net
Castellon, Marympcastellon@dadeschools.net
Diaz, Raymundoraydiaz@dadeschools.net
Estrada, Stephaniesestrada@dadeschools.net
Lassegue, PascalePLassegue@dadeschools.net
Lopez, Yamilelopezy@dadeschools.net
Morales, ElizabethEMorales@dadeschools.net
Nunez, Marthamarthanunez@dadeschools.net
Parada, Mercedesmparada@dadeschools.net
Pena, JessicaPenaJL@dadeschools.net
Rovira, RandyRrovira@dadeschools.net
Silva, Agnesagsilva@dadeschools.net
Tacoronte, Danieldtacoronte@dadeschools.net
Valencia, Martamvalencia@dadeschools.net
Vergara, Michaelmvergara@dadeschools.net
Willis, Brent317070@dadeschools.net
Zayas, Annetteapzayas@dadeschools.net
Zellner, Christopherczellner@dadeschools.net

ADDITIONAL SUPPORT STAFF

** FVSH also has additional support staff available such as Assistive Technology support, ASD support, PT/OT Therapists as well as others.  This would be determined by the IEP team and the needs of the student.

ESE Students
ESE Students
ESE Students
ESE Students
Autism Awareness
Autism Awareness
Graduation
Graduation